top of page
  • Yours truely, Nicole xx

Fruity & Fresh Pineapple Fried Rice


This dish is exactly what I am talking about when I say "Eat a rainbow"


Need I say more...


Just look at it...


Admire it...


*drools*




Note: These serve sizes are an estimation.

I made this in bulk to feed a whopping 11 people, and naturally I over estimated. So I have tried to make them as accurate as possible to reduce any waste for you guys!

 

SERVES: 11 people

PREP TIME: 15 minutes | COOKING TIME: 30 minutes

 

Ingredients

  • 4 cups brown rice (or 2 family packets)

  • 2 tbsp sesame oil

  • Sesame seeds

  • 2 long chilli, diced

  • 2-3 cups red cabbage, shredded or as diced as possible

  • 2 red capsicum, diced

  • 3-4 shallot stalks (spring onion), sliced

  • 2 carrots, cut into match sticks or grated

  • 2 bok choy bundles, chopped

  • 2 cups frozen peas

  • 2 tins pineapple (in juice), diced

  • unsalted peanuts

  • 2 tbsp tamari

Note: I split the recipe and made everything in 2 smaller batches because I didn't have a pan big enough to cook everything at once

 

Methods

  1. Heat the sesame oil in a large frying pan with chilli and sprinkle of pepper. Fry for 1-2 minutes.

  2. Slowly add the bok choy, cabbage, capsicum, shallots, carrot, peas and pineapple. Stirring through each time and frying for 1-2 minutes each.

  3. Add a sprinkle of unsalted peanuts, tamari and sesame seeds.

  4. Cook rice as per packet instructions

  5. Add rice and toss together for another 2-3 minutes.

  6. Serve and enjoy

 

This recipe was inspired by Ellie Bullen's cookbook called "Elsa's Wholesome Life"


You may have noticed that a lot of my recipes are inspired by recipes in her book.


You may notice that all her recipes are all vegan, however I am not vegan or vegetarian. I never follow her recipes 100% (nor do I follow any recipe to the T), but I always use them as just a guide. I like to make them my own by taking out ingredients I don't like and adding in things I do like!


For instance in this recipe I did not add tofu, satay sauce or bean sprouts. Simple because I didn't want to.


Enjoy xx

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page